Courageous Teens by Michael Catt

IMG_5818

“The story is told of a battle where the flag bearer got so far ahead of the regiment that he officer called back to headquarters and asked, ‘Shall we bring the flag back to the regiment?’ The commanding officer said, ‘No, make the regiment catch up with the flag!’

Today we need young people with the hearts of warriors; people who will run to catch up with the flag Christ carries ahead of us. People who won’t turn back. But the responsibility to mentor those young people falls to me, to my generation. . . . Unless the people of my generation take the time to equip you, our young people, with spiritual courage, the church is always just one generation away from extinction.

In these pages I explore the examples of people int he Bible who displayed great courage when playing it safe would have been easier. Each section begins with a segment of Joshua’s story of courage and throughout we explore other leading examples of courage in the Bible. Esther and Moses, Daniel and Jesus–each story challenges us to keep moving forward. they cause us to examine our priorities and deal with any thing that brings fear to our hearts. They call us to have a faith that matches our mountains.

I’m praying God will call you to do something great for His name and His glory. It may not make the headlines, but greatness is determined by God, not by man. Most of all, I am praying that you have the courage to answer that call. . . . I hope and pray this book will find its way into the hands of young people who will say, ‘By the grace of God, I will make a difference with my life. I will count the cost, pay the price, stand in the gap, and confront the culture.’”

I was really looking forward to reading Courageous Teens. I’m really working on my relationship with God right now. I’m working from the inside out in myself. I’m especially focusing on leadership, standing out in my Faith, having the courage to be bold, and what I can do to further the Kingdom. So let’s just say I was really hoping this book would help me.
In some ways, it did. I got a more in-depth look at some Bible characters like Nehemiah, Paul and Timothy, Joshua, and Stephen. I didn’t know a whole bunch about some of them. This book also did offer inspiration and continue to fuel my want to be a leader.
But, parts of it also disappointed me. I don’t want to sound stupid, but there were some parts of the book I just didn’t understand. My spiritual and intellectual levels must not be high enough. Some paragraphs left me feeling confused. Maybe in a few years when I read it again I’ll understand those paragraphs. But for now, I’m befuddled.
Another problem I had is how it’s hard to read this book without seeing the movie. I was planning on watching it sometime after it came out, but difficult situations arised and I probably won’t watch it for a time now. So I did feel like they could have made it a little more readable for people who haven’t seen the movie yet.
Overall, I felt like it was a fairly informing read, but not the most interesting one I have read. It may have been a little above my “level” if I have one. I do recommend this book if you are looking for more insight on courageous people in the Bible and on being a courageous teen, but I think this book should be read by older teens or teens with higher intellectual and spiritual levels.

-Lilian-

Leave a Reply

