Messenger by Lois Lowry

Messenger is the masterful third novel in the Giver Quartet, which began with the dystopian bestseller The Giver, now a major motion picture.

Matty has lived in Village and flourished under the guidance of Seer, a blind man known for his special sight. Village once welcomed newcomers, but something sinister has seeped into Village and the people have voted to close it to outsiders. Matty has been invaluable as a messenger. Now he must risk everything to make one last journey through the treacherous forest with his only weapon, a power he unexpectedly discovers within himself.

After reading Gathering Blue (the second installment in the series), I had drastically lowered my standards. The previous book disappointed me too much, I just couldn’t get my hopes up.
I was proven wrong. Messenger, while still possessing some qualities I don’t particularly like, was better then I thought it would be. The ending totally surprised me beyond words.
I was glad to see a continuation on the story of Matty, who is a part in Gathering Blue. This story line is just so unpredictable and spontaneous, it works. I’m kinda at a loss to explain it.
I think the story line was a little lacking, but it really made up for it when it kept me hooked on every page. I finished this book in 24 hours, it was just that good.
I would totally recommend this book to anyone. You don’t even have to read the first two books to get this one, even though it may help you understand everything. Since I enjoyed this one, I will be ordering Son, the fourth and final book in the quartet, asap.

Leave a Reply

