The Princess Spy by Melanie Dickerson

IMG_5823

Margaretha has always been a romantic, and hopes her newest suitor, Lord Claybrook, is destined to be her one true love. But then an injured man is brought to Hagenheim Castle, claiming to be an English lord who was attacked by Claybrook and left for dead. And only Margaretha—one of the few who speaks his language—understands the wild story.

Margaretha finds herself unable to pass Colin’s message along to her father, the duke, and convinces herself “Lord Colin” is just an addled stranger. Then Colin retrieves an heirloom she lost in a well, and asks her to spy on Claybrook as repayment. Margaretha knows she could never be a spy—not only is she unable to keep anything secret, she’s sure Colin is completely wrong about her potential betrothed. Though when Margaretha overhears Claybrook one day, she discovers her romantic notions may have been clouding her judgment about not only Colin but Claybrook as well. It is up to her to save her father and Hagenheim itself from Claybrook’s wicked plot.

The Princess Spy is the newest book in the fairytale series by Melanie Dickerson. Each book is based off of a classic fairytale. The books go in the order that follows:

The Healers Apprentice (Sleeping Beauty)
The Merchants Daughter (Beauty and the Beast)
The Fairest Beauty (Snow White)
The Captive Maiden (Cinderella)
The Princess Spy (The Frog Prince)

With this series, I have particularly enjoyed how all the books are related to each other through a family member. Normally someone in the third book would be related to someone in the first book and so on like that. That is something different and I really liked seeing how they all relate.
Now on to just this book.
I enjoyed reading it. I still got caught up in the medieval lifestyle (as I always do) and the budding romance. I also really enjoyed the depth of the characters. I loved getting to know them better and knowing their feelings and their prayers.
But, I also found some parts I didn’t particularly like.
First, as I’ve said with all the books, they are way too similar. They have there own little differences, but most of the plots are alike.

A boy who comes in to rescue the girl, falls in love with her, tells himself she doesn’t love you so you can’t love her, and ends up with her.

A girl who is wealthy (whether she knows it or not), is strong willed, fights for her life, tries to avoid a man she doesn’t want to marry, falls in love with mysterious boy, tells herself she doesn’t love him, and ends up with him.

A villain, usually a guy (but not limited to being one), normally wants to marry the girl, the girl doesn’t want to marry the villain, he goes off and attacks, kidnaps the girl several times, and ends up losing to the boy in the end. (Though The Fairest Beauty is the only one that changes away from this plot. It has a female villain.)

So I’m kinda tired of the same old plot line. It just gets old after awhile.
Next, I really couldn’t find any resemblance to The Frog Prince. It’s not a major problem, but I would have like to see a more obvious relation between the two.
Finally, I couldn’t find main character I can like. Colin was too stubborn and most times he made a decision, I thought he should have done the opposite. Margaretha is the most likable, though I felt her too strong-willed and wild for my liking. Though, I guess I could relate to her the most, because I can tend to talk to much, be too loud, and wonder if people think I’m annoying also.
In the end, I would recommend this book to someone looking for a nice, clean, medieval fairytale, but worn them that the repetitive storyline in all the books can be quite tiring.

-Lilian-

One thought on “The Princess Spy by Melanie Dickerson

Leave a Reply

