Matched by Ally Condie

In the society, officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die.

Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s hardly any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one… until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path no one else has ever dared follow — between perfection and passion.

This was my second time reading Matched. I have to say, reading it again, I can see things I didn’t see before.
For example, my perspective on characters change. Before, I always sympathized with Ky. I thought him and Cassia were meant to be. But this time around, I sympathize with Xander so much more. I realize how he just lost everything he cared about. His future. The love of his life. I couldn’t imagine being in his shoes.
I don’t like how Cassia gave up Xander, but I do understand her situation. She had a lot of tough choices to make. She had to choose to what extent she was willing to go for the ones she loves. I admire her bravery.
In this first book, most of it is a set up for the rest of the series. I feel like so much of this book is spent in flashbacks and explaining how she got to this point and her relationship with people up until now. Most of the time, I would have gotten bored with that sort of writing. But not this time. I think Ally Condie did a wonderful job setting up the story so you won’t be confused later on, but also adding in the current day to day life Cassia is living.
I also love the characters. They all have the perfect depth to them. It’s like I know them all and I understand them and their lives. They aren’t strangers to me, and I’m not left to wonder what they are like.
Overall, I recommend this book and this whole series. It has such a perfect balance and the story is so captivating and well written, it’s a must read.

-Lilian-

P.S. Click here to view the book trailer! http://youtu.be/xaeNWL8rlBI

Leave a Reply

