Remnants: Season of Wonder by Lisa T. Bergren

Gifted teens known as Remnants have been chosen and trained to act as humanity’s last hope to rectify the horrors that are now part of everyday life in 2095. The Community has trained these teens as warriors and assigned them Knights of the Last Order as protectors; together they are a force that will be difficult to bring down. The Sons of Sheol, of course, are hell bent on doing just that.

I am a huge fan of Lisa and her writing, so of course I have to read all her books that I can get my hands on. So when I saw my local library had this book, I ordered it immediately!

So let me set the scene for you.

It’s around 50 years in the future. Everything has changed. Their was a nuclear war and a lot of the earth was destroyed and wasn’t deemed livable for years. Society is now back to its simple and hard ways. A lot of animals have gone extinct, and the ground is very hard to plant in without tools, so food is very scarce.
Now comes in this 17 year old girl, Andriana. She has been raised and trained all her life, along with her knight Ronan, to save the world from the dark and evil forces that are rising to power. So throughout the book, the two of them, along with several other people just like them, go on a journey to save the world. But they don’t do it alone. They do it all with the help and guidance of “The Maker”, aka God.

Now on to my review.

From page one, you dive right into the story. You are suddenly immersed in the world and life of Andriana. At first, it was a little confusing as I tried to get used to the lifestyle and words and phrases of the story. But after awhile, I just got used to them and could effortlessly read the book.
I loved the characters! I absolutely fell in love with them. Lisa provided just enough depth for them so that I can imagine them my own way, yet have a basic idea of where to start. And if you’ve rad my reviews before, you probably know how much I value that in a book!
The whole plot worked perfectly. It made me want to keep reading and reading it! I was so caught up in the story, imagining it like a movie playing out in my head,
The ending was horribly perfect. It ended on such a cliffhanger!! My favorite character (I won’t name her/him for spoiler purposes) may be dead and I won’t know it until book two (Remnants: Season of Fire) comes out! Thankfully I don’t have to wait long, it’s comes out March 3😊. So anyways, the ending just hooked me on and I MUST know how it continues.
In the end, this is now one of my favorite books I’ve ever read. I totally recommend it to anyone looking for a good dystopian YA read! It’s a story of Faith, romance, and staying focused on God when the going gets tough.

-Lilian-

2 thoughts on “Remnants: Season of Wonder by Lisa T. Bergren

Leave a Reply

