Roadside Assistance by Amy Clipston

When Emily Curtis’ mom dies, the hospital bills force her and her dad to move to her wealthy aunt’s house. Emily, who’s used to getting her hands dirty working on cars, isn’t used to the way her aunt is trying to make her over into the perfect girly girl, just like her cousin Whitney. Things start to look up when she meets a fellow car buff her age and they work on cars together . . . but will the hole in her heart ever fill up? Emily learns that sometimes the help you need can come from the person you least expect.


      I hate giving books bad reviews. I wish I liked every book I read so I could always give it a good review. Sadly, today’s review is not gonna be too positive. Let me start off by saying I still love Amy Clipson and will continue to read her YA fiction (I’ve already pre-ordered her latest). She is an amazing author. I’m sorry I didn’t like your book! I really am. I also want to point out that so am not a huge fan of contemporary YA fiction, so this my affect how much I like the book.

       This was my second time reading this book. I am re-reading the first two books in preparation for the third book coming out on April 17. When I first read these books, I thought they were good and I liked them. 

That was not the case this time around.

     This book was so filled with cheesy, cliche romance, it was sorta hard to read it all the way through again. The whole relationship between Emily and Zander seemed like it was a middle school crush. It was painful.

       Then comes Emily. 

Her character is so whiny and stubborn. She gets mad when things aren’t her way and complains about everything. I mean, I know she had the horrible, heartbreaking experience of losing a parent. I’ve been through that, so I know what she felt when she doubted God and had changed so much. I went through the same experience. And I, too, lost a house and all ways of income and moved in with people for awhile. But she was just way too overly inconsiderate, I couldn’t stand it. And that fight. So you heard a few people say a few things? Does that mean you have to blow up and lose someone you love over rumors?!

And Zander.

     What bothers me the most about him is when he got in that fight with Emily (big shocker there), he was too stubborn to apologize or talk it out with her. I’m not just saying that because he’s a guy. I’m saying it because it’s the right thing to do. 

The plot was a good idea, honestly. I just didn’t like much else about the book. It just wasn’t my cup of tea. 

Overall, I probably won’t read this book again for a long time, but I am soon going to be reading the next book in the series over again so I am ready to read the newest book. 

-Lilian-

3 thoughts on “Roadside Assistance by Amy Clipston

Leave a Reply

