UnEnchanted (An Unfortunate Fairy Tale) by Chandah Hahn

unenchanted copyMina Grime is unlucky, unpopular and uncoordinated; that is until she saves her crush’s life on a field trip, changing her High School status from loser to hero overnight. But with her new found fame brings misfortune in the form of an old family curse come to light. For Mina is a descendant from the Brothers Grimm and has inherited all of their unfinished fairy tale business which includes trying to outwit a powerful Story from making her its’ next fairy-tale victim.
To break the fairy tale curse on her family and make these deadly occurrences stop, Mina must finish the tales until the very Grimm end.



UnEnchanted was a very quick, amusing read, but it lacked details and depth, which made it plain, at times.

I have had my eye on this book for awhile, but I never got around to buying it. So when I was on Barnes & Nobles website and I saw the ebook was free, I had to download it. I wasn’t planning on reading it so soon, but I was in the mood for a fairytale retelling. I also surprised myself by downloading an ebook, since I prefer an actual, paper book in my hands. But who could beat free?!

I must admit, the plotline was promising. I think, with some work, it could have been one of my favorite books.

Sadly, it fell short of my expectations for it.

This book lacked a lot of detail. I feel like this is a rough draft, not a complete book. The book didn’t have a lot of explanation about what’s going on. Some parts left me feeling confused. And a few parts were a little far fetched. I know it’s a fairytale and all, but still. I couldn’t grasp on to parts. It didn’t make me want to believe in the magic. It felt plain.

The characters also confused me. 

I was suddenly on a first name basis with everybody.

I got so confused when suddenly they are calling Mina’s mom Sara. Or they called this minor character Molly. I couldn’t keep up with it all. I also wished I was provided with more depth into the other characters lives.

I must commend Chanda with writing interesting characters, even if they lack depth. Jarod, especially, was very well written. I am interested in more of his life.

I also must say I was happy with a totally clean book! That can be hard to find.

Overall, I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series, and I am hoping it just gets better from here. I also already got another one of Chanda’s books for free on my NOOK app.

-Lilian-

Leave a Reply

