Before Tomorrowland Book Review + Tomorrowland Movie Review! SPOILER FREE!

(The book is by Jeff Jensen, Johnathan Case, Brad Bird, and Damon Lindelof. I just couldn’t fit the all the names in the title!

First, the book review!

Based on the spellbinding world of the Walt Disney Studios film, Tomorrowland, this original prequel novel features a 20-page comic book and unlocks a place of unfathomable science and technology and the famous people behind it.
The year is 1939.
A secret society of extraordinary geniuses is about to share an incredible discovery with the world.
A misguided enemy–half man, half machine–will stop at nothing to prevent the group from giving this forbidden knowledge to humanity.
And a mother and son on vacation in New York City are handed a comic book infused with a secret code that will lead them straight into the crossfires of the conspiracy.
This book is….surprising. It was not what I was expecting. It was interesting? I can’t say many great things about this book. Let’s just say I was expecting more. Here’s why-
First, I thought it would have more to do with the movie. I understand it is a prequel to the movie and it is supposed to show how Tomorrowland came to be. But it has a very forced tie to fit in. I honestly feel like this is a different series then the movie. The book characters are referenced about twice in one scene in the whole movie. And thoe are very minor mentioning’s.
Second, the book is hard to read. I had a difficult time getting into the book. There was a lot of sci-fi, technology, and all that stuff that I don’t understand and don’t really enjoy reading about.
Next, there were so many characters, I kept getting them confused. Tesla? Hughes? Rotwang? Lee? I never knew who was who! I felt like there were too many peoples stories and lives thrown into one book. I couldn’t focus on just one or two characters.
Plus, none of the characters were really likable. They all felt sorta plain, boring, and aggressive. Or possibly even crazy.
I was also disappointed at the amount of profanity in this book. I was expecting none, seeing its by Disney, but I was totally wrong. Lots of uses of the ‘D’ and ‘H’ words. So adding the profanity in with everything else I’ve described, I don’t think this is a kids book. 13+, if you can actually keep up with all the technology and characters.
Now a (spoiler free) movie review!
I have been looking forward to this movie ever since the first trailer came out. My hopes were high! Too bad they were totally shot down during the movie.
I don’t even know how to describe the movie. It wasn’t nearly as good as I was hoping. I was very disappointed in it.
The plot was a great idea, it was just so crowded with useless stuff and a sometimes annoying protagonist. I couldn’t keep up with everything going on.
Plus, about every other word was a curse word. Seriously, Disney. I don’t need to hear that when I’m trying to enjoy what I thought was a family-friendly movie.
Anyway’s, a lot of people seem to have liked the movie. Maybe it’s just me that felt this way. Did you see it yet? What do you think of it? Leave a comment below!!
-Lilian-
One thought on “Before Tomorrowland Book Review + Tomorrowland Movie Review! SPOILER FREE!

Leave a Reply

