Afterimage by J. Kowallis

Reggie’s dreams . . .
aren’t dreams.

Visions of the future flood her mind like shards of broken puzzles. Caged in her cell, every morning begins the same. She’s drugged, tortured, and images are torn from her memory by Public One.

Until the morning everything changes. The vision is different. The future’s never been about her, and now she knows they’re coming for her:

Nomads.

How will she convince them to keep her alive when Nate, their leader, doesn’t like or even trust her? To him, she’s a science experiment. A machine.

When Public One will do anything to keep her, Reggie must make a decision: remain a slave to her past, or risk her future to venture into a world more terrifying than she’s ever known.

Such mixed feelings abut this book. So many mixed feelings.

J. Kowallis sent me this book for me to read and review, along with her planning on doing a guest post on my blog, which is hopefully going to be on here soon!

So I honestly knew very little about this book before reading it. I just knew the plot sounded good and I’m always up for a free book!

The whole time I read this book, I just kept noticing how similar it was to one of my favorite series of all time, The Anomaly Trilogy by Krista Mcgee. Especially when Reggie was in Public One. They had those same dystopian vibes and the antagonist seemed quite similar.

I must admit that I was expecting this book to be a lot better. I had high hopes for it. Sadly, this book failed to impress me as much as I was hoping, and here’s a few reasons why-

The Profanity: I had asked the author before I recieved the book about any profanity and suggestive content in the book. She responded and told me that its mainly farmer swearing to make the world believable, but since she is a Christian herself, she would not use anything explicit, anything derogatory, or taking God’s name in vain. After she told me that, I was feeling pretty good and was expecting a few minor words here and there. I was so wrong.

By the second chapter, cuss words were used more then I ever thought there would be in the whole book. I understand how J. Kowallis wants the world to be believable. That’s great! But I think the profanity could have been left out and it still would have been believable AND more enjoyable. I tried to count how much profanity was used throughout the book, and here is a rough amount of what I counted-

The ‘H’ word was used 20+ times.

The ‘D’ word was used 15+ times.

The ‘A’ word was used 5+ times.

The ‘S’ word used 15+ times.

Plus many other words were also used countless times. I found it hard to concentrate on the story sometimes because of the amount of profanity in almost every chapter.

There was a slight amount of suggestive content, but nothing much.

The Plot: I couldn’t get into the book very well for another reason also. In the first half of the book, the plot was very slow. I couldn’t find any enjoyment in it. After I got 150-200 pages in, it started to pick up and I could sit and read chapter after chapter. But in the beginning, I just couldn’t get into the story.

Also, there was quite a few grammatical errors. I’m a pretty big grammar freak sometimes, so that kinda bothered me.

The Characters: If a book has good characters, there is a good chance that I will like the book more. Sadly, I only liked about 1-3 characters in the whole series. The hero and heroine were annoying and predictable, the secondary characters were tolerable at best. The only characters I liked were London, Sophia, and Greyson.

Just as a warning, there is a fair amount of violence, and most of it is gruesome and described vividly enough.

Another thing. Is this book supposed to be Christian or not? It had a few mentions of God in one part, then cussing in another. I was so confused.

I didn’t particularly enjoy this book, and I probably wont be reading it again soon. But the ending was, while slightly predictable, satisfying. I think a sequel would be nice, and I might even read it.

I seriously hate writing negative book reviews like this one, and I procrastinated it as much as I could. But, I’d rather be known for writing honest reviews that are negative then positive reviews that don’t tell the whole truth.

-Lilian-

One thought on “Afterimage by J. Kowallis

Leave a Reply

