Why I liked Blackbird by Anna Carey and why I won’t be finishing the series

This twisty, breathless cat-and-mouse thrill ride, told in the second person, follows a girl with amnesia in present-day Los Angeles who is being pursued by mysterious and terrifying assailants.

A girl wakes up on the train tracks, a subway car barreling down on her. With only minutes to react, she hunches down and the train speeds over her. She doesn’t remember her name, where she is, or how she got there. She has a tattoo on the inside of her right wrist of a blackbird inside a box, letters and numbers printed just below: FNV02198. There is only one thing she knows for sure: people are trying to kill her.

On the run for her life, she tries to untangle who she is and what happened Soto the girl she used to be. Nothing and no one are what they appear to be. But the truth is more disturbing than she ever imagined.

The Maze Runner series meets Code Name Verity, Blackbird is relentless and action-packed, filled with surprising twists.

I actually won this book in a contest hosted by @coffeestainedbooks on Instagram (Go check out her account!! She’s super sweet!).

Okay, so I was totally hoping the title would catch your attention.

Did it work?

Whether it worked or not, I’m glad your checking out my blog!!

So I went into reading this knowing nothing but what the book jacket told me. I had never heard of Anna Carey before, but the plot sounded so incredible. I love a good mystery and thriller.

And I must say, Anna’s writing was amazing. She really knows how to write a book. I was hooked the whole way through. I had read some reviews online and I saw some people tended not to like the book because of the second person POV. I, personally, loved the POV. I think it fit really well with her writing and the mystery.

The protagonist, Sunny, was a very likable and well-written character. She wasn’t annoying or naggy.

Now on to the reasons I won’t be finishing this series:

Profanity- While I didn’t count, there was a fair amount of bad profanity. Sometimes I can overlook it, but this time it was too frequent and bad to overlook. I think profanity makes a book look trashy, personally. And if I had known what profanity was in it, I wouldn’t have read the book.

Drug use- Another thing I didn’t know about the book beforehand is the protagonist’s love interest is a drug dealer.

Suggestive Content- The amount of physical contact between the protagonist and the love interest made me uncomfortable. While nothing was described in detail, she was without a shirt or bra on multiple times by him. That’s as far as content was described, but it was still enough to make me uncomfortable and skim over that part.

So, due to the preceding 3 reasons, I am not continuing the series. It’s sad, because Anna Carey is an amazing writer. But because she added these things into her book it kinda drowns out her writing with the disgusting trashy content that is totally not necessary.

-Lilian-

One thought on “Why I liked Blackbird by Anna Carey and why I won’t be finishing the series

Leave a Reply

