Gone by Micheal Grant

In the blink of an eye, everyone disappears. Gone. Except for the young. There are teens, but not one single adult. Just as suddenly, there are no phones, no internet, no television. No way to get help. And no way to figure out what’s happened. Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. A sinister creature lurks. Animals are mutating. And the teens themselves are changing, developing new talents—unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers—that grow stronger by the day. It’s a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen, a fight is shaping up. Townies against rich kids. Bullies against the weak. Powerful against powerless. And time is running out: on your birthday, you disappear just like everyone else. . . .

I really wanted to love this book. I really tried.

But this book was very hard to love. So many random things happened and they don’t seem to connect. Plus the ‘plot twists’ were very predictable and boring. And the characters did get annoying and were pretty repetitive.

So I honestly didn’t know much about this series except what I read on the back of the book and the Goodreads description. I bought it awhile ago and then just left it sitting in my shelf. I gotta say, the whopping 500+ pages were intimidating. But I actually flew through them pretty quickly after I actually decided to read it.

Oh, the characters…

As I have mentioned many times before, characters kinda make or break a book for me. And while these characters weren’t super annoying, there were times I didn’t like them. They got on my nerves a lot. I also didn’t really like any of the characters. The only character I liked from the beginning ended up being my least favorite character in the end.

I also think that Micheal Grant should not have added the whole middle-school crush in there. It felt so out of place (THEY’RE 14!?) and I would have liked it a little better without it.

The plot was a jumbled mess.

I don’t know what was happening with the plot. It was focusing on like 5 kids totally different stories. I got all the characters confused so many times. One chapter I’m focusing on a girl on the very edge of death and the next chapter is about a kid running the local McDonalds. See my point?

Also, so many things in the plot still don’t make sense after reading that whole book. I am left with so many questions. I’m guessing that the questions are answered in the rest of the 6 or so book series. But after not totally enjoying the book, I don’t know if I’m even going to finish the series. If I do, it probably won’t be right away because I have different books to buy that I’m more interested in reading.

I must admit, some parts of the book were enjoyable. But it’s hard to find the enjoyable parts mixed in with the rest.

Heads up: The book does contain a little language, but it is kept to a minimum. There is no romance beyond a few kisses.

I’d love to hear your thought’s on the book! Let me know in the comments below:)

-Lilian-

Leave a Reply

