Cinderella’s Dress by Shonna Slayton

Cinderella’s Dress by Shonna Slayton is a YA fairy-tale retelling set in 1940’s New York. Being a teen-ager during World War II is tough. Finding out you’re the next keeper of the real Cinderella’s dress is even tougher. Kate simply wants to create window displays at the department store where she’s working, trying to help out with the war effort. But when long-lost relatives from Poland arrive with a steamer trunk they claim holds the Cinderella’s dress, life gets complicated. Now, with a father missing in action, her new sweetheart shipped off to boot camp, and her great aunt losing her wits, Kate has to unravel the mystery before it’s too late. After all, the descendants of the wicked stepsisters will stop at nothing to get what they think they deserve.

Where to start, where to start…

 

I bought this book at a recent book haul from Book Outlet.

I read some reviews of this book last night after finishing it, and a lot of people said they didn’t like this book for many reasons. And, I must say, I disagree with all of those reviews.

This book was beautifully written, it had an intriguing plot, and the characters were amazing.

Kate is a very strong, promising and life-like protagonist. She’s quirky and awkward. She doesn’t always make the best decisions and she makes mistakes. She just feels so real and lovable.

I don’t think any of the characters really annoyed me. They all felt real and lovable and fun. They all had flaws and they all made mistakes, just like us humans do.

Shonna Slayton’s writing was magnificent. Plus she is just so nice! Random note, but I love when authors are friendly and reply online and stuff. I do realize and understand that some are just incapable, but talking to an author of a book I love still makes me really happy.

Of course, this book does have a little romance in it.

I was so refreshed to see this book doesn’t have the usual love-triangle like most other books. This one just has Kate and Johnny and they are just so darling together!! They are so cute together! I just can’t get over them. I think they’re one of my new OTP’s.

Plus, this book takes place in a fantastic World War ll era. I am a huge fan of vintage books and fashion and everything, and this story takes place in such a beautiful time of fashion and courtship, that I fell in love with it, and hopefully you will too.

Cleanliness rating?

This book is totally clean!! No profanity or suggestive themes. It doesn’t even have too much violence.

Overall, this is a fresh, clean twist on the Cinderella tale that I think all will enjoy.

 

-Lilian-

Leave a Reply

