Vendetta (The Nikki Boyd Files 1) by Lisa Harris

No one needs to push Nikki Boyd to excel on the Tennessee Missing Persons Task Force. The case of her own missing sister, still unsolved after ten years, is the driving force in her work. When a Polaroid photo of a missing girl shows up at a crime scene, Nikki quickly recognizes similarities to the past. The closer she gets to the abductor, the more she feels this case has become personal, and she is not the hunter . . . but the hunted.

With this explosive first book in The Nikki Boyd Files, award-winning author Lisa Harris takes you on a fast-paced pursuit of justice that will have you holding your breath until the heart-stopping finish.

I was sent a copy of this book by Revell Publishers in return for my honest reviewer. They have in no way influenced my thoughts on this book.

 

I have no words for the greatness of this book.

 

I spent almost all my Sunday reading this book. It is intriguing from the first chapter through the epilogue. The mystery and thrilling plot left me hanging on the edge of my seat the whole time. My heart was pounding and my mind was racing trying to put the clues together.

I must admit, I don’t read a lot of New Adult books, but I made an exception for this one and I’m so glad I did.

 

First off, I must applaud Lisa Harris for her great character writing. I loved all the characters and none of them annoyed me. They all thought reasonably. She had me believing that everyone was a suspect… even the people that were seemingly innocent. I was constantly questioning all the characters and trying to put two-and-two together.

The one thing I wish was written better was the ending and how the climax was delivered. I felt like, when the mystery was ‘solved’, more evidence should have been dropped throughout the book for the readers to figure it out. I really wanted to attempt to solve the mystery and I was slightly disappointed when I realized that I couldn’t have figured out the mystery because they didn’t even partially introduce me to any of the facts beforehand.

I also felt the book ended with a weird ending. It left me unsatisfied. Plus, judging by the one chapter I already have of the sequel, it doesn’t shoe clues of following the same mystery case, which is kinda upsetting. I was really enjoying learning more about the ‘Angel Abductor’.

But, I must admit that the book was well written, overall, and I am already looking forward to the sequel.

As for cleanliness, it is 100% clean from suggestive content and profanity. But, because of the violence and overall creepiness of the whole story, I don’t recommend it for younger readers or anyone who can’t handle the details of abductions and violence, as it can be slightly graphic at times and it is written with real abductions in time.

Let me end by saying that I don’t think I’ll ever go on a hike again without looking behind my back for crazy men with big sticks.

 

-Lilian-

One thought on “Vendetta (The Nikki Boyd Files 1) by Lisa Harris

Leave a Reply

