Mockingjay Part 2 SPOILER FREE Review

The other day I finally had the opportunity to see Mockingjay Part 2. I still haven’t fully grasped my thoughts on the movie, so this may be a little messy. But, here’s my SPOILER FREE review of Mockingjay Part 2.

 

So, let’s start this off. First, the movie was good, as all the movies have been. I think these are some of the best YA book to movie adaptations ever. This series crushes the competition.

However, I feel like this last movie might have fallen a little flat.

 

I honestly don’t know for sure, but I feel like it fell flat because so much emotion was just left out. Don’t get me wrong, Jennifer Lawrence is the best Katniss. No one can replace her. It’s just, the book shows her thoughts and emotions during everything and I feel like those weren’t portrayed very well on the big screen.

 

I also found Katniss’s lack of emotion during certain death scenes… disturbing. I don’t know, it’s just I feel like, if I was in her place, I would’ve showed at least some emotion. She was close with these people and she just blew off their death like it was nothing. I understand that she’s been through these horrific experiences and I can’t begin to imagine how it must have felt, but I still feel like Katniss still would have mourned their death. But maybe that’s just me.

 

Okay, was it just me, or did the movie go by super quick? I felt like it was even boring at some parts. I know it was supposed to be action packed and filled, but some scenes just fell bland (Except the mutts… Those things were graphic and creeeepy).

 

I also feel like Peeta was supposed to have a bigger role in this movie. I felt like his character also lacked emotional depth and character throughout it all. I just felt like he should have had a more prominent role, since he also has such a big character change in this movie.

 

From my thoughts above, it may sound like I hated this movie. That is so not the case. There were some very enjoyable parts and I’ll highlight those now.

 

First, the movie did have a little humor in it, also. After the movie, my friends told me they couldn’t understand why I was laughing so much during it. But Johanna Mason and Finnick Odair were being so hilarious, I couldn’t help it.

 

Plus, this movie grew my hatred for President Coin. Some people may not consider her a villain, but I do. I also learned that I don’t hate President Snow as much. I just wish that I knew more of his backstory. (And can I have Finnick’s backstory while we’re at it? K thanks)

 

Also, I think the acting by all the background characters (AKA everyone who’s not Katniss) was amazing. They really brought the whole movie to life.

 

As for cleanliness…

The movie has no profanity or inappropriate scenes. It is full of violence, though, and I wouldn’t deem it suitable for children. Some scenes just are quite scary and even I cringed a little.

 

So, those are my thoughts. Leave a comment down below and tell me your thoughts! I’d love to hear them.

-Lilian-

Leave a Reply

