A Time to Die by Nadine Brandes

How would you live if you knew the day you’d die?

Parvin Blackwater has wasted her life. At only seventeen, she has one year left according to the Clock by her bedside.

In a last-ditch effort to make a difference, she tries to rescue Radicals from the crooked justice system. But when the authorities find out about her illegal activity, they cast her through the Wall — her people’s death sentence.

What she finds on the other side about the world, about eternity, and about herself changes Parvin forever and might just save her people. But her Clock is running out.

I was sent a copy of this book by Nadine Brandes in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my review in any way.

You know what this book is? A breath of fresh air.

Seriously, this book is different than any other dystopian book I’ve read. I mean, I’m sure we’ve all wondered what it’d be like to know when we die. What we would do if we knew we had limited time. In this book, those questions are explored in a unique way.

First off, Nadine’s writing is amazing. It honestly reminds me of my writing style. But she built such a unique world. It’s like, in the Hunger Games, if you combine Panem, the districts, and the arena in one, than you get this world that Nadine has amazingly created. I still haven’t fully grasped the whole world, because it is so deep and complex, yet simple and enticing.

I have to mention these characters. They were all imagined and crafted so creatively! I loved all the characters (except Skelley, but I’ll get to him in a minute). They were all very lovable and very real. They made some bad decisions, and some good ones. Just like a real human would.

Okay, so I have not despised AND feared a villain as much as I do with Skelley Chase, like, ever. He wasn’t even THAT evil. He was just scary in his own ways and it made me totally despise him. I officially have a fear of the scent of lemons and green fedoras.

The only part I didn’t like was the slow beginning. It took me a bit to get into. But I totally understand that Nadine had to set-up the world, so I can’t hold anything against her EXCEPT THE ENDING. Nadine ripped out my heart and ran over it with a truck, shattering it into a million little pieces. Seriously, she’s evil (but in the best way possible<3). I already have the second book and I really can’t wait to jump back into that world, hopefully next month. Right now I need a break for a lighter read.

Let’s talk cleanliness. This is a Christian book, so it has no profanity. As for inappropriate content, it only has some almost-kisses, because I don’t recall any actual kisses, but I’m not sure. The violence is heavy, though. Limbs are cut off and injuries are sustained that made me shudder a bit. But, if you can handle some blood, you’ll be fine.

So, if you’re looking for a delightful read to make you hate green fedoras and rip your heart into tiny pieces, I totally recommend this one:)

-Lilian-

Leave a Reply

