The Library Project + Childhood Books

untitled

Today I’m taking a break from my normal reviews and writing about an organization I’ve had the pleasure of learning more about lately. I’ve partnered up with them to share about some of my favorite childhood books and introduce you to this organization! Plus, I’m gonna turn this into a little challenge;) Read on to learn what I mean!

Thelibraryproject_Apr11-03

Here’s a little info about The Library Project from their website:

Our strategy to improve children’s literacy is to provide libraries, literacy and librarian training.

The Library Project donates libraries to improve children’s literacy. Children gain access to a beautiful school library providing fun and interesting children’s books that spark their imaginations and promote a lifelong love of reading.

Literacy Camp has one simple focus; to get children excited about reading. We see this as the second part to a library donation. Once a library is in place, it is essential to properly introduce children to a world filled with books.

The Library Project provides a quality librarian training course. Our librarian training course is created specifically for teachers and administrators on how to manage their library. We have found that this training course results in 94% of our libraries being effectively used on a daily-to-weekly basis after the first year.

So The Library Project contacted me and introduced me to their mission, and then they asked me to share about my favorite childhood books. I read a lot as a kid. I was constantly kicking my younger sister out of the room we shared so I could have some quiet to read. So below I’ll highlight some of the books I remember reading that have left an impact on my reading now.

5151e+W88yL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

1. The Camp Club Girls

I read these when I was an older-kid and entering my tween years. My parents got me and my sister like the first 18 or so books for Christmas one year. Me and her both quickly devoured all these stories. We were absorbed in the mysteries, and I’m pretty sure these books caused me to start shipping people. Looking back, these books really shaped me into the reader I am now, and I think they grew my love of mysteries. Plus, they’re still good nowadays. If I had the time, I would honestly go back and reread all of these, and buy the last few books I never got to read:(

little-women-book-cover

2. Little Women

When I was in middle school, I went through this “phase” of reading only classics. In that phase, I ended up reading a young-readers edition of Little Women (I thought it was the full version at the time) and I fell in love. I’d already seen the movie and loved it, and the book just sealed the deal. This became my favorite classic and remains that way still today. This book was significant in my reading life because I realized classics weren’t just boring, old-people books. I could actually read and enjoy them. That mindset really shaped my love of classics today.

geronimo-stilton

3. Geronimo Stilton

These were MY BOOKS in elementary school. My family would go the library once a week, and I’d grab a basket and run to “my section” to see if the library had got any new Geronimo Stilton books. They didn’t have many, so I didn’t get to read many, but I still treasured them. I don’t know exactly how these really shaped me as a reader today. I think they helped me just grow as a reader in general, and I’ll always have those treasured library memories.

Junie-B_-Jones-1024x747

4. Junie B. Jones

MY CHILDHOOD. I loved these books. I read them as a younger kid, and as I got older, I would still read them, just faster. I remember bragging to my mom how could read a whole book in a day, with these being my books of choice. I would love when my mom found a few more of these hidden away at a thrift store and brought them home to me. These really supported me and practically turned me into a reader. Well, these and another series I’m about name…

QnxaNwg

5. Magic Tree House

Along with Junie B. Jones, these turned me into a reader. I would get any new ones from the library whenever Geronimo Stilton wasn’t available. I loved secretly learning about history while reading about all these wonderful adventures. Plus I remember when they had the education guide books that’d correspond with certain books. I’d get those and read all about the educational things I overlooked in the originals. But I wasn’t allowed to read the Merlin Mission editions. My mom said they had “too much magic” and stuff like that… *shrugs* The originals were okay with me.

Now, time to make things interesting.

I really enjoyed digging up fun memories of my childhood, and I think a few others would, too. Plus, I enjoyed raising awareness about The Library Project and their awesome mission. So, I’ve decided to turn this into a challenge. I want to challenge you, a few of my fellow bloggers, to share about The Library Project and your favorite childhood books. If you write a post about your childhood reads and share about The Library Project, email a link of it to me at liliansbooks@gmail.com! If I get, say, 10 people to share about it, I’ll make a donation to The Library Project! Plus, I encourage you to donate yourself, or run a similar challenge to your blog followers! That’s all it is! It’s so simple. I look forward to seeing your blog posts!

Happy Reading,

-Lilian-

 

2 thoughts on “The Library Project + Childhood Books

Leave a Reply

