Macbeth #killingit by Courtney Carbone

Macbeth

Macbeth, one of the greatest stories ever told . . . in texts?!
 
Imagine: What if that tragic couple, Macbeth and Lady Macbeth, had smartphones? A classic is reborn in this fun and funny adaptation of one of Shakespeare’s most famous plays!
 
A prophecy from three witches.
A social-climbing couple committing a murder most foul.
A cover-up that spins way out of control.

 and h8. The classics just got a whole lot more interesting. 😉

tl;dr A Shakespeare play told through its characters texting with emojis, posting photos, checking in at locations, and updating their relationship statuses. The perfect gift for hip theater lovers and teens.

A glossary and cast of characters are included for those who need it. For example: tl;dr means too long; didn’t read.

By the way, for those of you who somehow know nothing about Macbeth, this book was also written by William Shakespeare.

This book is the definition of a short-read. I read this last month in a few hours. I was super sick and yucky, I needed something easy for me to understand. And I just happened to have this book lying around, so I picked it up and I was done with it pretty quickly.

I really did enjoy the book, and it makes me want to read the original. But I tried reading Romeo and Juliet last year and I couldn’t get more than a few pages in, so I may need a simplified version of Macbeth. Since this book is so short, they cram a lot in it at once, and it can get kinda confusing. My main struggle with this book was it had SO many characters. I kept getting them all confused with each other, I couldn’t keep them all clear.

I really do love the modern take on these Shakespearean classics, and I feel they set a good base for my generation and possibly generations to come to grow a love for Shakespeare. I mean, after reading this one book, I already want to read some Shakespeare. I can’t imagine how many others probably feel the same way after reading this. And this could totally be used as an outline for reading the original, considering I’ll probably get confused many, many times.

I’m also planning on reading the rest of the series! They have YOLO Juliet, A Midsummer Night #nofilter, srsly Hamlet, and the newest addition Scrooge #worstgiftever!

It did have a little language and a little suggestive content, but most of it was told in the form of modern abbreviations. It wasn’t overwhelming at all.

What do you think about retellings of classics like this?

-Lilian-

Leave a Reply

