Remember to Forget by Ashley Royer

Remember to Forget close up

In Remember to Forget from Watty Award-winning author Ashley Royer, Levi has refused to speak since the tragic death of his girlfriend, Delia, and can’t seem to come out of his depression and hindering self-doubt. Desperate to make some positive change in Levi’s life, his mother sends him to live with his father in Maine. Though the idea of moving from Australia to America seems completely daunting, Levi passively accepts his fate, but once he lands faces personal struggles and self-doubt at the same time he and his dad battle through resentment and misunderstanding. And then, while at therapy, Levi meets Delilah, a girl who eerily reminds him of someone he lost.

I don’t even know what to think about this book. I absolutely despised the beginning. Levi was so freaking annoying, I couldn’t handle it. Ask my family and my goodreads friends, and they’ll tell you how much I talked about how I didn’t want to read it. But, I finally pushed through and got through the book. The second half was better, I’ll admit. Levi wasn’t AS annoying. I still don’t love him, but I hate him less.

I feel like the portrayal of losing someone you love wasn’t super accurate. I’ve never lost a boyfriend or even best friend, like Levi did. But I have lost my father, and I’ve felt grief, and I feel like the portrayal of grief wasn’t as accurate as it could have been. I totally know and understand that everyone grieves differently, and I’m not saying grief like Levi’s isn’t possible, but I do think, in my personal opinion, that the grief Levia was facing and his attitude and character in general was poorly written and unaccurate.

I do think this book had some good writing and moments, specifically in the second half. So, my feelings for this book are very mixed. I’m very unattached to any characters and I don’t think I’ll ever reread it, but there were some good moments and I must commend Ashley Royer for writing and publishing a book at 17! I can say I don’t hate it, but I don’t love it. It’s kinda one of those ‘in-between’ books.

As far as I remember, this book was clean!

-Lilian-

 

Leave a Reply

