The Darkest Lie by Pintip Dunn

The Darkest Lie

“The mother I knew would never do those things.
But maybe I never knew her after all.

Clothes, jokes, coded messages…Cecilia Brooks and her mom shared everything. At least, CeCe thought they did. Six months ago, her mom killed herself after accusations of having sex with a student, and CeCe’s been the subject of whispers and taunts ever since. Now, at the start of her high school senior year, between dealing with her grieving, distracted father, and the social nightmare that has become her life, CeCe just wants to fly under the radar. Instead, she’s volunteering at the school’s crisis hotline—the same place her mother worked.

As she counsels troubled strangers, CeCe’s lingering suspicions about her mom’s death surface. With the help of Sam, a new student and newspaper intern, she starts to piece together fragmented clues that point to a twisted secret at the heart of her community. Soon, finding the truth isn’t just a matter of restoring her mother’s reputation, it’s about saving lives—including CeCe’s own…

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher, but all the views mentioned are my own.

Oh, this book. Judging from the description, I should’ve known I would hate it, but yet I still signed up for the blog tour and excitedly awaited my copy to arrive. Now, look at me. I had to drop out of the blog tour because I just couldn’t give this book a good review.

This book and story started off well, and I believe it could have been done tastefully while still having been a great thriller. But, instead this book was written kinda childishly and full of content that I didn’t appreciate.

I hate mysteries and thrillers that have completely underwhelming endings. I was hoping this book would be different, but it wasn’t. It built up to a huge, dramatic ending and then BAM it’s over and you’re wondering what happened to the action. The book was pretty predictable, so I kinda assumed it would be an underwhelming ending, but I was still hoping for the best anyway.

With mysteries and thrillers, I have a hard time relating to any of the characters, cause I always assume they’ll end up being a villain. This book really wasn’t different, but I found 1 character I liked throughout it. Can you guess what happened? That character turned out to be the antagonist.

This book is not clean at all. A lot of sexual innuendo. A lot of immature teen boys with sex references. A lot of cursing. If you’re looking for a good thriller, I would probably look elsewhere, but that’s my opinion. Maybe this book just isn’t for me. Who knows? I am still going to read more Pintip Dunn books, however, because I really want to give her another chance. I already own Forget Tomorrow, and I’m hoping to get around to it soon. Hopefully I’ll like it better!

Are you planning to read The Darkest Lie when it’s released? What mysteries and thrillers do you recommend? Let me know in the comments below!

-Lilian-

 

Leave a Reply

