How to Disappear Blog Tour

how to disappear blog tour

Today I have a very special post for you! I’m a part of the How to Disappear blog tour and I’m so excited to bring you an interview with the author and a GIVEAWAY! First, I’ll give you some info on the book and the author, so stay tuned!

how to disappear

About HOW TO DISAPPEAR

Title: HOW TO DISAPPEAR

Author: Ann Redisch Stampler

Release date: June 14, 2016

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Pages: 416

Formats: Hardcover, eBook

This electric cross-country thriller follows the game of cat and mouse between a girl on the run from a murder she witnessed—or committed?—and the boy who’s sent to kill her.

Nicolette Holland is the girl everyone likes. Up for adventure. Loyal to a fault. And she’s pretty sure she can get away with anything…until a young woman is brutally murdered in the woods near Nicolette’s house. Which is why she has to disappear.

Jack Manx has always been the stand-up guy with the killer last name. But straight A’s and athletic trophies can’t make people forget that his father was a hit man and his brother is doing time for armed assault. Just when Jack is about to graduate from his Las Vegas high school and head east for college, his brother pulls him into the family business with inescapable instructions: find this ruthless Nicolette Holland and get rid of her. Or else Jack and everyone he loves will pay the price.

As Nicolette and Jack race to outsmart each other, tensions—and attractions—run high. Told in alternating voices, this tightly plotted mystery and tense love story challenges our assumptions about right and wrong, guilt and innocence, truth and lies.

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/How-Disappear-Ann-Redisch-Stampler/dp/1481443933/

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/how-to-disappear-ann-redisch-stampler/1122751075?ean=9781481443937

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/how-to-disappear/id1047598388?mt=11

IndieBound: http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781481443937

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27206481-how-to-disappear

blog tour author photo

About Ann Redisch Stampler

Ann Redisch Stampler is the author of the young adult novels Afterparty and Where It Began as well as half a dozen picture books. Her work has garnered an Aesop accolade, the National Jewish Book Award, Sydney Taylor honors, the Middle East Book Award, and Bank Street Best Books of the Year mentions. How to Disappear (Simon Pulse, 2016), her first young adult thriller, will be released in June. Ann lives in Los Angeles, California, with her husband Rick.

Links:

Website: http://www.annstampler.com/

Blog: http://www.annstampler.com/blog/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/annstampler

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/annstamplerwriter/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/annstampler

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4949584.Ann_Redisch_Stampler

I’ve already had the pleasure of reading this great thriller! I currently don’t have my review up, but it’ll be coming in July! I also had the pleasure of asking the author a few questions! Check them out now:

-Did you read a lot as a kid-young teen? If so, what books did you read?

I was one of those “reading saved me” kinds of kids. I felt weird, but I was safe and happy and engaged in books. I tended to read a lot of books that had children or teens as major characters – whether or not they were considered children’s or teen books. Then, when I hit my mid-teens, I started reading Truly Serious Literature. I kept going to the library or to the bookstore when there were these extremely inexpensive little Penguin classics, and it felt as if I, personally, was discovering all these great books that no one else knew about. When I got to college and it turned out that not only did a whole lot of other people know about these books, but they wanted to talk about them, I was quite a happy English major.

I also read mysteries and thrillers. Avidly. But I didn’t take these very seriously as books. I just kept reading them and loving them and wanting to write one of them. And with How to Disappear, I’ve finally done it.

-Who is your favorite character in your book?

I’m equally fond of Jack and Nicolette. My writing method is to pretend that I’m the character that’s narrating. So I spent a lot of time pretending to be each of these people, feeling their feelings and telling their sides of the story. It was probably more fun for me to write Nicolette, I mean, we’re both females and I she got to be a lot funnier and wilder than Jack did at times. But I still love Jack. When he was finally coming clean to Nicolette about what it was like for him growing up in his family, and he was so torn up, I was on the verge of tears writing that for days.

-What do you want readers to take away from your book?

I’d like it if readers were absorbed and intrigued by this book, believed the characters, and were entertained from start to finish.

On a deeper level, I’d like readers to leave this book asking themselves a lot of questions about what they’d do, how far they’d go, if they’d sacrifice what they think of as right or moral, if they were pushed hard enough. I’d like them to wonder about what aspects of themselves are fixed and unalterable across situations, versus what could be changed if they chose to change it or if their circumstances called for them to be different. Can a person, in fact, learn how to make the core of him or herself disappear? Could you?

 -Do you have a favorite line from your books?

The last three lines. There are only 11 words in all three of them. But you absolutely can’t skip back there and read them out of order. You’ll see why when you get there.

-What can readers expect from your book?

How to Disappear is a very twisty thriller with a cross-country chase, a lot of plotting and scheming, and, dare I say, characters who are – against their better judgment – greatly attracted to each other, so there’s a certain amount of heat. Neither character knows fully what’s going on, or understands the dark forces behind the action, and neither one is completely honest with the other, the reader, or him/herself.

-What Disney character are you most like?

Belle!!! I want to be like Belle! Big reader, sense of humor, basically kind, sticks up for herself, finds true love being herself. Who wouldn’t want to be Belle?

Here’s the schedule of the other blog tour dates this week:

Monday, June 20th:

Tuesday, June 21st:

Wednesday, June 22nd:

Thursday, June 23rd:

Friday, June 24th:

Saturday, June 25th:

Are you ready for the giveaway now?? Check it out:

Giveaway:

ONE (1) winner will receive a $50.00 gift certificate for The Book Depository,  Signed HOW TO DISAPPEAR bookmarks + a Nicolette’s disguise inspired Smashbox makeup kit.

***Giveaway is INTERNATIONAL***

blog tour bookmarks

giveaway makeup

Enter the giveaway (via rafflecopter) HERE: https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/9a07ce2b357/

That’s it! I really hope you enjoyed this special post and that you’ll enter the giveaway!

-Lilian-

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

