Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry

2015/01/img_5789.jpg

“Mother? ” There was no reply. She hadn’t expected one. Her mother had been dead, now, for four days, and Kira could tell that the last of the spirit was drifting away … Now she was all alone.

Left orphaned and physically flawed in a civilization that shuns and discards the weak, Kira faces a frighteningly uncertain future. Her neighbors are hostile and no one but a small boy offers to help. When she is summoned to judgement by The Council of Guardians, Kira prepares to fight for her life. But the Council, to her surprise, has plans for her. Blessed with an almost magical talent that keeps her alive, the young girl faces new responsibilities and a set of mysteries deep within the only world she has ever known. On her quest for truth, Kira discovers things that will change her life and world forever. A compelling examination of a future society, Gathering Blue challenges readers to think about community, creativity, and the values that they have learned to accept. Once again Lois Lowry brings readers on a provocative journey that inspires contemplation long after the last page is turned.

Gathering Blue is the second book in The Giver Quartet. It was an enjoyable book, but I feel the book seemed to lack in its storyline.
I read The Giver and instantly knew I had to read the next book. Little did I know, the next book, Gathering Blue, doesn’t even involve anything in the first book. I was really looking forward to getting to know more about Jonas and Gabriel and seeing how their life went on. But I was sad to see Gathering Blue didn’t even have a mention of them. I felt like I was reading a separate series.
With that in mind, I did enjoy the book. It didn’t take very long to read, but I thought it covered the basics. Sadly, it didn’t answer all my questions. It left me feeling like I stopped the book halfway through it. I don’t know what happens to any of them, which is sad because Thomas and Jo were growing on me. So unless the next two books continue the story somehow, I feel incomplete.
In the end, I can’t say I didn’t like the book. It was very enjoyable. It just feels like I am missing half of the story. It feels incomplete. I’ll have to read the next two books to see if Lois gives me an explanation.

-Lilian-

Leave a comment